Since the first time I have seen one of these posts I wanted to do one for myself. Now the lovely Daniela @ Daniela’s Bookshelf has tagged me to do this! Thank you, Daniela!

If you click on the pictures of the books, you will be redirected to their page on Goodreads. Let’s go!

ZEUS (JUPITER)

GOD OF THE SKY AND THUNDER / KING OF THE GODS

Favorite book (choose your own category!)8460324

As the first book to start off this tag I am going to mention The Great Gatsby. It would fit in the category of Classics, but also Fiction. I adored everything about it. The characters, the settings, the symbolic meaning. I’ve read it for the first time around three years ago, but it has always remained my all-time favourite. So maybe it’s time for a re-read. If anyone wants to read it along with me, leave me a comment!


POSEIDON (NEPTUNE)

GOD OF THE SEAS AND EARTHQUAKES

Book that drowned you in feels2043575

Oyasumi Punpun is something I am probably going to be talking about a lot in the future. Alongside The Great Gatsby it is one of my absolute favourites. This manga was so captivating that I read all 13 volumes within one and a half day. I loved it to bits. I felt overwhelmed with emotions. I was happy for them, I was sad, I felt bad for them, I laughed, I was confused. I was feeling everything. Most of all, I just didn’t want this to end. Since I have read this one and a half years ago, I have yet to find another manga that was as tremendously great as this one. It was so real, dark at times and hard. I just cannot get over this.


HADES (PLUTO)

GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD

Favorite book with a dark / ominous plot825840

Throughout the whole story, you can sense that something is off with Fight Club. Something indeed dark and ominous. This already starts with the anonymous narrator. A lot of plotting is going on during the whole story. Nothing that can be quite named. Even though most people are familiar with the story and how it ends, the book portrays this very well.


HERA (JUNO)

GODDESS OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY

Cutest fictional couple6931356

Not expecting to be liking it, I started off The DUFF. Oh how wrong I was. I devoured this novel. I do understand how people can be annoyed with it, but I realized that books like these sometimes are just exactly my kind of read. Therefore the cutest fictional couple, for me, is going to be Bianca and Wesley. The progress of their relationship and all the moments they shared easily make them the cutest couple. Also, the movie is nothing like this, just saying. Ugh. They totally screwed that up for me. Nevermind.


ATHENA (MINERVA)

GODDESS OF WISDOM, HANDICRAFT AND STRATEGIC WARFARE

Series with the best world-building985873

Without a doubt, this has to be the A Song of Ice and Fire series. Although I have only read the first book and a third of the second one, the world-building has already progressed a lot by then. Westeros and its lands will always have a special place in my heart. It’s one of the most impressive worlds in my opinion. I hope that I will be able to finish all of the books that are currently out soonish.


APHRODITE (VENUS)

GODDESS OF LOVE AND BEAUTY

Most beautiful cover on a 2016 release25467698

This would have to go to The Love That Split the World. It’s currently on my to-read shelf. What made me want to read it was the beautiful cover. I really enjoy the dark universe in the background and the vibrant colours in the front. Additionally, the font is pretty neat and well-fitting. The cover makes it seem light and joyous.


ARES (MARS)

GOD OF WAR AND BLOODSHED

Most violent book you’ve ever read5188591

Although I have read a lot of violent books, not a single one comes to my mind striking me as particularly violent. I think that the The Virgin Suicides is extremely violent, mostly towards the end. I can still picture a particular scene at the end, when I came across this book on my read shelf on Goodreads, looking for a fitting novel. All in all, this book is also one of my favourites, so it will be featured here.


HEPHAESTUS (VULCAN)

GOD OF BLACKSMITHS AND FIRE

Scorching hot swoon worthy character932671

I’ve been looking through all of my books and I realized that I rarely read books where a character really is scorching hot. Hardly ever. Most of the time the characters I read about are clumsy, trying hard, but aren’t always successful. So nothing too swoonworthy. On the other hand, I have always had a thing for Sherlock Holmes. He is intelligent, ambitious and gifted in music. He is capable of anything, in my mind. That’s all I am looking for in a character, smart is the new sexy.


ARTEMIS (DIANA)

GODDESS OF THE HUNT AND VIRGINITY

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine9368561

It seems a lot of books I have read were written through the perspective of a male individual. Hence this was already a bit harder to answer. Eventually, I was able to find a fitting book for this though. More of a series, maybe. The character I chose for this is Ramona Flowers from Scott Pilgrim #1-6. She’s smart, strong and independent. An overall sophisticated character.


PHOEBUS APOLLO (APOLLO)

GOD OF LIGHT AND HEALING

Sequel book that redeemed its series

I fear I cannot name a single book here. I either loved the whole series or really didn’t enjoy it that much. I could name an instance where a sequel made everything worse for me, but this is not the point here. So, nothing to see here. Let’s move on.


HERMES (MERCURY)

MESSENGER GOD OF THIEVES AND COMMERCE

Book with the best message18882869

The book I chose for this part is All Quiet On The Western Front. It’s a WWI novel, a masterpiece, as it says on the cover and I absolutely agree with that. If there is any book on this list that I would want you to read, I would want you to read this. This book has such an important message about war and violence and destruction. It’s a book that if everyone read it and understood its message, there would be no wars. The whole novel is highly visual all throughout.


HESTIA (VESTA)

GODDESS OF THE HEARTH AND HOME

Book with the most relatable story character7178

This was so hard to think about it. I hardly ever relate to characters that well and much. At first I was thinking about taking a book like Animal Farm or 1984, because I could relate to the situations, but that would not have been a lot of fun, would it? I could have gone with The Martian, to make a stupid joke about how totally relatable it is to go to Mars and stuff. Then I though about The Very Hungry Caterpillar. Totally relatable, for real now. What I finally found to be working for me was The Catcher in the Rye. A book I hated a lot. A book that was so useless and annoying the whole time. Holden Annoying Caulfield. I read it after my dear best friend had also read it, and she was shocked to find me in such a state of hatred. She had loved it. Just like she liked me. This made me understand that I had hated Holden so much, because he was just like me. I am also annoying, always rambling on, always feeling so mature. Considering all of this my hatred for this book turned into the opposite, I even rated it 5/5. So this is, what I am sticking with.


DEMETER (CERES)

GODDESS OF FERTILITY AND AGRICULTURE

Favorite bookish setting7619057

A setting I thought was very interesting was the one of Warm Bodies. An abandoned city in a post-apocalyptic future, dreary grey landscapes and hopelessness. Feeling, heart-warming Zombies. Overall good ideas, a world that is changing due to love.


DIONYSUS (BACCHUS)

GOD OF WINE AND CELEBRATION

2016 release you are most anticipating

I don’t understand how people are able to stay on top of their reading lists so well that they can actually read whatever has been out there for a while, but also the latest cool books. I certainly can’t do that, therefore here, again, I won’t be mentioning any book. Because at the moment, I am not anticipating anything.


Thanks again to Daniela! This was a lot of fun, but also quite some work to find the best book for each category. The hardest one was definitely the most relatable story. Sorry for the weird story there I guess.

I Tag

Everyone who wants to do this, at the moment. If you decide to do it based on my post, leave me a comment! I’m curious to see more of these posts! I might edit this later on, but for now it seems everyone I would have tagged has already been tagged  or done it.

 

One thought on “Greek Mythology Tag

Leave a Reply

