This is the review of the audiobook that I found on Spotify. I think it’s a bit hard to write a review for a book on here that is only available in German, but maybe you will be interested in it anyway. Click here for the Goodreads page.

My Thoughts

Max is an unsuccessful author, and yet a law-abiding citizen. Not so much his brother Cosma, who is locked up in a mental hospital for good reason. In a few days, he will commit one of the most atrocious crimes of which humans are capable of. The only problem is, he doesn’t yet know that today. In contrary to those who want to kill him, before it is too late. (Synopsis found on Goodreads, roughly translated by me.)

Max Rhode is the author of Die Blutschule. And he really is, just have a look here. Except for the fact, that Max Rhode doesn’t exist. The book actually is also written by Fitzek, in order to help the plot of this book progress. Isn’t that just so cool?

The relationships in this book are steadily evolving into deeper, more meaningful ones. After all that the characters had to go through, they grew together more closely. This is the case in particular for Max and his brother Cosmo, but also for his daughter. The characters are described in much detail and they keep growing, too. A few characteristics of different characters have been very clear from the start. Cosmo was broken somehow, but eager and willing to change. Jola was witty, intelligent and active, interested in her surroundings. Max has had a naive side to him, but this resulted from something deeper.

Around 4 hours in, the listener gets a feel what this really is about, and who Joshua is. Before those 4 hours, it wasn’t mentioned at all. Although I had read the synopsis, I didn’t think about it while I was listening to it. Predictive Policing is an intense and interesting topic to write a novel about. In times like these, maybe even more so.

I enjoyed the flow of the novel. It was fast paced, while still focusing with great detail on important scenes. The story was, to some extent, unbelievable and so strange. So many terrible things were happening to each character. The scheming didn’t even stop until the very end. I have to say, though, that I had liked the other Fitzeks that I have read before this one a bit more.

Something that made this audiobook a very nice experience was the narrator. Simon Jäger was doing the voices exceptionally well. He changed the tone of this voice, according to whoever’s voice and words he was reading at the point. What I liked especially well, was how he made Cosmo really sound like the lunatic that he is, with just a bit of restraint and recovery in it. His impression of Jola, a 10-year-old girl, was a bit laughable, though.

Another nice addition to all the thriller novels that Fitzek has written. Horrific and thrilling, just as one would expect. Even in the end there is still a lot of excitement left. In the end this book received 3/5 stars from me.

9 thoughts on “Das Joshua-Profil – Sebastian Fitzek

  1. I only read one of his books about a hostage situation at a radio show. It was good but not as surprising or with the amount of tension that I would have liked. I thought about giving another one of his books a try but now I’m not sure if you see that you liked his other books more.. Thank you for your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! I have yet to read that one, but it is one of his older ones, isn’t it? Some book I would potentially recommend is “Der Augensammler”. Its one of those that I liked a bit more. If you decide to read any of his other novels sometime, let me know how you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Usually, the books I read are in English, or at least they have translations to English. With this, I really wanted to talk about it, in a language that was universal. Everyone would be able to understand, and does one really mind in modern times like these if something is written in English? Did you expect my review to be German? Do you see any problem with that? I’m not trying to sound mean, just asking.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, it’s not that I have a problem with that – I just thought it to be a bit odd. And I didn’t took your reply as mean and I absolutely understand, now that you explained it.
        But please could you tell me … well, … hätten wir das Gespräch auch auf Deutsch führen können?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ja, doch! ist mir in letzter Zeit allerdings häufiger passiert. Vielleicht sollte ich das wie andere auch machen und meine Posts nur noch einsprachig verfassen in der blinden Hoffnung, dass mein Gegenüber sie auch versteht.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

