First Volumes | Welcome to the NHK!

As part of my summer reading goals, I wanted to start and even finish this manga series! With this post, I am going to share my first impressions and thoughts about the first volume of NHK ni Youkoso! with you guys.

Released: 2004
Genres: Comedy, Drama, Romance, Shounen, Psychological
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 40
Story: Tatsuhiko Takimoto
Art: Kenji Ooiwa

This manga starts off right away, without any backstory or anything. Many parts of the plot were confusing to me. For many situations it wasn’t quite understandable why they were happening at all or were this was coming from. They just happened randomly. There were no real explanations for anything that had happened.

The art style is, in my opinion, pretty, but also kept realistic to some extent. What made reading the first few pages a little harder  was the fact that the font was scribbled horribly, adjusted to the excitement and screaming of the character.

I would recommend it for a more mature audience. This deals with falling in love on the one hand, but on the other hand, it also contains drugs, thoughts about suicide and even child nudity and exploitation in some sort of way. And I am saying contains, because it doesn’t deal with it at all and it’s just being presented as sort of normal. The way it is being handled is in a more laughable way, which puts down the problems themselves. I think that if you liked WataMote, you might like this manga, too. This also made me think of Aku no Hana.

I can say that this was a somewhat new experience for me. I don’t think the other manga that I’ve read were similar to this one. This made it good but also bad in some ways. Therefore I don’t know if I will get to the next volume at all.

What do you think about Welcome to the NHK?

One thought on “First Volumes | Welcome to the NHK!

Leave a Reply

