The month of June has ended and so I am here to present the reading that I managed to get done in this post. My To Be Read of June can be found here. As you can see, I didn’t manage to read any of it. Ugh! However, I did get to read 8 books and around 1700 pages. For next month, I might try a kind of new format of these posts, like many of you do, which not just focuses on books, but other cool stuff as well.

Hardcovers and Paperbacks

General

Blauschmuck Katharina Winkler
Pages: 196 | Rating: 5/5 | Goodreads
Thoughts: The overall feeling in this reminded me a lot of Room. The only difference is that it is even more powerful and vigorous. Every single line is so well written and adds up to very potent paragraphs. This is once of the most violent and disturbing books I have ever read. It is based on a true story, which makes it even more unbelievable. I read this whole book in one sitting, I just couldn’t stop. Sadly, it seems that it is only available in German at the moment. Also, the cover is beautiful.

29074572.jpg

Graphic Novels

Saga, Volume 3 Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples (Artist)
Pages: 144 | Fantasy | Rating: 3/5 | Goodreads
My review can be found here.

19358975

Manga

No Matter How I Look at It, It’s You Guys’ Fault I’m Not Popular!, Vol.7 Nico Tanigawa
Pages: 141 | Rating: 4/5 | Goodreads
Thoughts: This was slightly less good than the ones before. It might be that I have progressed as a human being and I don’t find her suffering and weird thoughts as appealing in the form of a story anymore, but I can’t quite tell. Maybe this story is just in the line of as always.

23546773.jpg

Yotsubato!, Vol. 04 Kiyohiko Azuma
Pages: 192 | Rating: 2/5 | Goodreads
Thoughts: Sadly, I feel like I cannot connect or relate with this at all. Yotsuba is cute and all, but she’s also very demanding (and sometimes annoying). And that might be it for kids her age, but I just cannot enjoy reading about it. They are spending lots of time with their family and friends in nature, catching bugs, going fishing, but that isn’t something I am currently interested in reading about. It all felt so meaningless. Mostly, I was thinking, why am I even reading this? And basically, it’s just because it got recommended to me by someone very close to me. I just really like to finish things, so I will continue with this for now, I think.

Yotsubato!, Vol. 05 Kiyohiko Azuma
Pages: 208  | Rating: 2/5 | Goodreads
Thoughts: For now, there’s not much more I would like to say about this series. Recommended for those who like (or at least can stand) children.

DSC00852.JPG

E-books

The Sorrows of Young Werther Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Pages: 108 | German Literature, Romance | Rating: 4/5 | Goodreads
Thoughts: A classic that we have been taught about in German class. Something I was actually not that interested in reading until quite recently. It’s such a packed story. It is filled with all his feelings, feelings of love and despair. This is probably what made it last through the centuries. In addition to that it might be the fact that it is written in a very modern form. In some ways the phrasing may seem a bit off from the current standards, but it does deliver a modern day story. Also, Goethe keeps making references to other books that were very popular reads at that time. This makes the setting way more believable.

16640

Audio books

Das Joshua-Profil Sebastian Fitzek, Simon Jäger (Narrator)
Length: 7 hours (432 pages) | Thriller, Mystery, Crime | Rating: 3/5 | Goodreads
My review can be found here.

After You  Jojo Moyes, Luise Helm (Narrator)
Length: 10 hours (352 pages) | Fiction, Romance | Rating: 3/5 | Goodreads
Thoughts: I don’t really know if I liked it. I had wanted to read it for quite a while, but after I had seen so many posts marking the first book as ableist, I somewhat had to agree with that and therefore wasn’t looking forward to this as much anymore. I did find it to be okay, though. I was able to relate to Sam in some sort of way. Lily did make me mad at times. And Lou was just being her usual self. So, I don’t know. In a way, I started to like it more towards the end, after I had gotten to know the characters in more depth and actually interesting things started to happen. A short scene shortly before the end made me cringe, though. It was just so awkward and it all sounded so sarcastic, as if Moyes just tried to slip in some really weird trolling scene. I don’t even know! Luise Helm, the narrator of this audio book, did such a fantastic job. I really liked her voice and she did the different characters in an amazing way.

What have you been reading in June?

2 thoughts on “June | Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

