Books I Read Because Of Their Movies

Hello there! In this post I wanna share with you most of the books I have read because of their movie. The reasons for me reading them on the one hand was because I enjoyed the movie and was looking forward to the experience of reading the book, which is most always better in my opinion. On the other hand, I wanted to read the book because the trailer of a movie won me over completely and I just needed to read the book before watching it. This will be a little longer , so let’s get into this!

Fight Club

So far, I think I have watched this movie around four times already. After I had watched it two times, I think, I finally bought the book. Palahniuk’s writing and the way he told the story made it even better. There were a few differences between the book and the movie, but I didn’t mind at all, everything fit together very well in the movie.

Book ➵ 5/5
Movie ➵ 10/10

Never Let Me Go

After I had seen the trailer for Never Let Me Go, I knew I had to read the book as soon as possible. So when I randomly saw the book a few weeks afterwards in a bookstore, I knew I had to buy it! I read it within a very short amount of time and even though it was confusing at times, it was such a great read for me! I even had a very dear friend of mine read it after I had, so we could watch the movie together! But let me tell you, the movie was disappointing. It was vastly different from the book and not at all as good. Carey Mulligan usually is one of my favourite actresses, but even she couldn’t make this better for me.

Book ➵ 5/5
Movie ➵ 6/10

If I Stay

Again, the trailer for this was heartbreaking, so I had to read it before I went to the cinema with my friends to watch it. I found the book the be very well written and it even made me shed a few tears at the end! I liked how the movie seemed pretty truthful to the book. A great experience, in my opinion.

Book ➵ 4/5
Movie ➵ 8/10

Scott Pilgrim

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World was such a lovely movie, I liked the plot, the different graphic elements and the funny parts. So when I found out, that I could borrow the boxed set with all six volumes from my (now) boyfriend, I immediately did so. Within a week, I certainly read and enjoyed all six volumes. This really was worth it! If you like graphic novels, but you haven’t yet read this, you totally should do so soon!

Book ➵ 5/5
Movie ➵ 9/10

The Martian

For this one, I started listening to the audio book. Quite a while after the movie had come out and the hype around The Martian was quickly building up, I knew that I could no longer put it off. I put 10 hours of my life into listening to this and it was a good experience. Watching the movie later on made it easier to process everything that is happening, because it is quite action packed, in my opinion.

Book ➵ 4/5
Movie ➵ 10/10

V for Vendetta

I had watched this movie quite a long while ago. When I saw the graphic novel in this pretty, beautiful little bookshop in Prague on our school trip, I bought it there out of curiosity. Also, out of curiosity I just searched for the bookshop in Prague, so here they are. I’m pretty surprised that I was able to find this website quite easily! But now let’s move on the the book. I have to say that it took me such a long time to get into this. It’s probably taken a whole year until I finally found the motivation to read it. But when I did, I read it within two sittings, that’s how great I thought it was.

Book ➵ 3.5/5
Movie ➵ 9/10

Warm Bodies

I am not quite sure about this one anymore. I think I watched the movie before reading the book, but I already had the book at home at that point. I enjoyed the movie severely. Nicholas Hoult is one of my favourite actors and he really fit well for the role of R. I like the book very much, which also had to do with the gorgeous edition that I had bought. All in all a little lighter enjoyment, both book and movie. Not to be taken too seriously.

Book ➵ 4/5
Movie ➵ 9/10

Have a nice week! Which books did you read because of their movie?

9 thoughts on “Books I Read Because Of Their Movies

  1. I had the same thoughts about the Never Let Me Go movie. It was okay, but not amazing. I’ve heard better things about the book. Out of curiosity, have you ever watched An Education? I could really relate to it, and Carey Mulligan was great in it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

