Reading Stefan Zweig

Only recently a movie has been released about an amazing Austrian author. Stefan Zweig: Farewell to Europe (Vor der Morgenröte) was very well done and the actors fitted their characters in such an accurate manner. If you get the chance, you need to watch it! It made Stefan Zweig interesting to me once again. Now here I am, wanting to read more of his works to get a better understanding of this great mind.

The only one of his works I have read by now is Chess Story, possibly one of his most famous novels. We had to read it at school. As far as I can remember it was tense yet worthwhile, although it was very short at only around 100 pages.

I was delighted to find that many of his novels are available on Amazon for free! At least the German versions of them are. The following five titles are the ones that I picked out for reading.

Amok | 1922 | 177 pages

Sternstunden der Menschheit | 1927 | 191 pages

Magellan | 1938 | 258 pages

Maria Stuart | 1940 | 362 pages

Die Welt von Gestern | 1942 | 370 pages

There will be posts coming with short reviews and my thoughts on his works hopefully somewhat soon. If you have read any of his novels, let me know what you thought of them! If you wanna buddy read any of them, also just tell me, I’d love to!

Leave a Reply

