A lovely and fun memoir about the great Amy Poehler. Light and enjoyable, but appropriately serious when needed!

Overview

This book has 352 pages.
It is a Memoir and Comedy novel.
This was a Kindle Edition.
The language I read it in was English.
It received 4 out of 5 stars from me.

+

► I really enjoyed her sense of humor. Although I usually don’t read memoirs, this was actually really refreshing. She had an interesting way of getting across everything she wanted to say. You cannot deny it, she is hilarious (or hillary-ous, duh!).

► On different occasions in the book feminist issues were brought up and equality was questioned (in a somewhat passive aggressive way). Not only that, but she also spoke about her experiences in Haiti in a short chapter.

► The book contained different elements, like pictures, scanned documents and apparently handwritten lists. It made the whole experience a lot lighter and more absorbing.

► Amy is outspoken. Maybe it is part of being a comedian, but she was unashamed to talk about everything and anything in her life and her environment. Her honesty made her even more likeable.

► This book dealt with many issues that were not yet particularly interesting to me, like giving birth to a child and divorce. Which is not inherently bad, I just feel to young to appreciate it appropriately even in its humorous way.

► There were some instances where I wasn’t totally comfortable with her way of talking about things since I just didn’t get the joke sometimes.

► In this book there are major spoilers for Parks and Recreation. Before I knew what was happening I had already read about something major that was taking place in the fifth and sixth season. Ugh! I also skipped a few pages of this book that were part of the script from said events. I mean, maybe she made that script up, but I didn’t want to risk it.

Favourite Quote

The only way we will survive is by being kind. The only way we can get by in this world is through the help we receive from others. No one can do it alone, no matter how great the machines are.

Recommended for

► everyone who has finished watching Parks and Recreation or doesn’t mind major spoilers.

► fans of Saturday Night Live, since a big portion of the book is about her experiences there.

► anyone interested in Amy Poehler.

► people who want to get into reading memoirs but are not sure where to start.

► anyone who is up for a fun read!

Conclusion

Although there are some negative points, I really enjoyed this book. It basically pulled me out of my reading slump for at least a little while (and I do hope even longer now). This memoir made me check out Saturday Night Live and my interest in watching Parks and Rec was sparked once again. Amy is a fun person and has her own enjoyable way of writing. She seems so genuine in everything she does, which she very well portrayed in her book.

7 thoughts on “Yes Please – Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

