Hello and welcome to my first ever Top 5 Wednesday post! I have seen so many people enjoying themselves while doing Top 5 lists every week and now I couldn’t help myself but to join in on today’s amazing topic: Favorite First Sentences! I am still new to this bookish meme, so please correct me if I am wrong with the following. It was created by Lainey @ GingerReadsLainey and is being hosted by Sam @ ThoughtsOnTomes. The official group on Goodreads can be found here.

1 The Great Gatsby

In my younger an more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.

2 The Metamorphosis

One morning, when Gregor Samsa woke from troubled dreams, he found himself transformed in his bed into a horrible vermin.

3 Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

From July of his sophomore year in colllege until the following January, all Tsukuru Tazaki could think about was dying.

4 The Virgin Suicides

On the morning the last Lisbon daughter took her turn at suicide – it was Mary this time, and sleeping pills, like Therese – the two paramedics arrived at the house knowing exactly where the knife drawer was, and the gas oven, and the bean in the basement from which it was possible to tie a rope.

5 1984

It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite First Sentences

  1. You’ve put together a great list, 1984 made it onto mine too! 🙂

    I was never much of a fan of The Virgin Suicides unfortunately (something about it just didn’t click with me) but even so I appreciate the skill of its first line – I think it does so much to set up the tone, the pacing, and the plot of the novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot! I understand why one would choose 1984 haha!
      Have you seen the movie? The movie actually set the vibe for me to finally read it. Although it sets the tone and pacing quite well, it’s rather slow, a bit confusing and not as easy to get into!
      Your list is extremely detailed, I like that! And I do like that we seem to have somewhat similar taste. I do like classics a lot too (at least it seems you like them a lot). I also thought about including The Book Thief, but I was put off by the “more than one sentence first sentence” thingy. Well, thanks for leaving a comment and have a nice day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

