Difficult Women | 272 pages | Expected Publication: 3rd of January | Short Stories, Fiction, Feminism Goodreads | Amazon

In exchange for an honest review I received this eARC from the publisher on NetGalley. Thank you very much!

+

The first short story was chosen very well. It sets the atmosphere as somewhat dark and twisted, sad and difficult. Because of this interesting first story I was unable to put the book down at this point.

Gay’s writing is highly enjoyable and somewhat different from most authors I read. At least this is the feeling it conveys. The wording is simple, but also effective and strong.

Difficult Women, the short story that gave Gay’s book its name, is in contrast to the stories leading to it written differently and has a different vibe to it. In its prominent state, it connected to the other stories very well. All of the stories were unique and written distinctly.

The diversity in these short stories was refreshing and gave this book a more profound vibe.

Two or three of the short stories were not interesting to me at all. I wanted to skip these, but didn’t.  Awaiting a turn in events, which did happen at some point, saved them somehow.

Favorite Quotes

He used to think his wealth was a burden but quickly realized what he could get away with.

La Negra Blanca

[…] her services were in high demand because her clients liked having an English-speaking housekeeper as much as it made them uncomfortable to see a white woman doing the work of la gente.

Florida, 1217 Ridgewood RD Unit 23

Additionally, all of Difficult Woman, What a Crazy Woman Thinks About While Walking Down the Street.

Conclusion

Short stories about many different women, whom I would have liked to read more about. Nearly all of them kept my undivided attention, with most of them leaving me heartbroken at least in some way. I would recommend to anyone not being bothered with subtly being called out for sexist and racist behavior and explicit sex scenes. However – TW: rape, abuse/violence.

One thought on “Difficult Women

  1. I really want to read this book! I read Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay before and I found it thought-provoking and incredibly insighful. Difficult Women sounds like something I would enjoy, the stories of all kinds of women are always interesting to read, at least for me. I’m glad you enjoyed this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

