Year of No Clutter: A Memoir by Eve Schaub

A pleasant memoir about family, well-being, materialism as well as minimalism and of course everyone’s enemy – clutter! Loved it!

In exchange for an honest review I received this eARC from the publisher on NetGalley. Thank you very much!

I’ve been interested in decluttering and a clutter free lifestyle for quite a while now. Therefore this book immediately caught my attention and I was excited when I was approved for this title. Now let us get into it! Warning: Mild spoilers ahead, as well as mental health stuff. 

+

The chapter about the hell room is extremely interesting and her writing is easy and quick to read. It was a nice way to get into the whole subject matter. Throughout reading it, personal stories and problems Eve had to face made it richer in variety.

Taken from the blurb on Goodreads:

Year of No Clutter is a deeply inspiring–and frequently hilarious — examination of why we keep stuff in the first place, and how to let it all go.

I absolutely have to agree with this statement. To be completely honest, at first I wasn’t aware of how serious and well-conceived this book was until I was around one third into it. I was absolutely sure that it would be just like other articles and posts on the internet about this topic, just in a longer version. But I was wrong, this book made me feel something and I could relate to it so much, I felt what Eve must have been feeling in some way or another. And because I was able to relate so much, I wanna share another passage from Year Of No Clutter.

I was afraid. Desperately. Afraid of side effects! Afraid it would make me sick! I pictured my hair falling out in clumps. […] I pictured myself violently ill, and these images circled my non-draining brain endlessly until the only way I could get any respite was to shelve the issue once more in the back storage closet of my mind. Phew.

(Somehow, this is exactly how I felt, although I was not diagnosed with OCD, but something else, and also:)

Today, I am a different person. I take an infinitesimal daily dose of what’s called a selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (translation: Roto-Rooter for my brain). My husband will be the first one to point out the differences between Even and eversoslightlymedicated Eve.

The book deals with the subject matter of mental health and especially OCD pretty well, in my opinion. Of course I cannot speak for people with this kind of problem, but it is sensitive enough with not any obvious insensitivities and not totally ignorant.

Eve is such a lovely and likable narrator. This memoir and her story are quite unique in my opinion. Her writing and use of language was – at least for me with English not being my native language – sophisticated and exiting, with many words I had never heard before. It somewhat showed some quirkiness of her character I think. Which I mean in the most positive way!

Conclusion

I wasn’t expecting all too much, since I hardly ever read memoirs, but let me tell you I was stunned! Eve has such an empathetic way of telling her stories, I was able to connect and feel like I was a part of that story. It’s definitely a fast read, with some helpful advice along the way. Therefore Year Of No Clutter will receive 4 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Year of No Clutter: A Memoir by Eve Schaub

Leave a Reply

